Lower Garfield Street – The Deers Head was built around 1885 and stands on the corner of Garfield Street (named after the American President who was assassinated in 1881) and North Street. The exterior of the building displays the monogram JD for John Donnelly, the wine and spirit merchant who founded the pub here. Inside the pub there are cosy snugs, so popular in Belfast alehouses. The first five are original and the rest were re-instated by the former owner, Croft Inns. The Deers Head attracts a rich and varied mix of imbibers, from city centre business types popping in for a lunchtime liberation, to weary shoppers looking to recharge their batteries before another onslaught at the shops.